Report Wire - CWG 2022: Such biasedness used to occur in cricket as effectively: Sehwag on India ladies’s hockey controversial semis loss

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

CWG 2022: Such biasedness used to occur in cricket as effectively: Sehwag on India ladies’s hockey controversial semis loss

2 min read
IndiaToday.in

Former India cricketer Virender Sehwag linked the controversial semifinal defeat of India ladies’s hockey on the Commonwealth Games to early cricket days.

Australia’s Rosie Malone missed her first try throughout the penalty shootout, however was gifted one other probability because the eight second countdown on the scoreboard had not began on Friday. On her second probability, Malone put Australia within the lead. Although the group booed the technical officers for the choice, India ultimately misplaced the semifinal 0-3 within the shootout after each side had been tied 1-1 on the finish of regulation time.

“Penalty miss hua Australia se and the Umpire says, Sorry Clock start nahi hua. Such biasedness used to happen in cricket as well earlier till we became a superpower, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all clocks will start on time. Proud of our girls,” Sehwag tweeted.

Penalty miss hua Australia se and the Umpire says, Sorry Clock begin nahi hua. Such biasedness used to occur in cricket as effectively earlier until we grew to become a superpower, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all clocks will begin on time. Proud of our ladies pic.twitter.com/mqxJfX0RDq

— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) August 6, 2022

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) apologised for the clock controversy, saying it should “thoroughly review” the incident that resulted in India’s semifinal loss.

“In the semi-final match of the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games between Australia and India (Women), the penalty shootout started mistakenly too early (the clock was not yet ready to operate), for which we apologise,” FIH mentioned in a press release. “The process in place for such situations is that the penalty shootout has to be retaken, which was done. This incident will be thoroughly reviewed by the FIH in order to avoid any similar issues in the future.”

After the defeat, India captain Savita Punia performed down the clock controversy and harassed that it was vital to maneuver on and concentrate on the staff’s bronze medal towards the 2018 Gold Coast champions New Zealand on August 7.

“It was a very close match and sometimes these decisions don’t go your way, it becomes tougher. The first stroke was asked to be retaken. It was tough for us but, at the same time, these are part of the game. We have to move on,” Savita advised Sony Sports.

“It will take today’s time (to get over the loss in the semi-final). It was a close match, we had worked hard. But now, the bronze medal match is very important. We are aware of it. As a captain, as a senior player, it’s my responsibility to motivate the players and make sure they are ready for the bronze medal match.”

— ENDS —