Report Wire - Government sad with wrestlers’ behaviour, unlikely to reconstitute oversight committee

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Government sad with wrestlers’ behaviour, unlikely to reconstitute oversight committee

3 min read
Government unhappy with wrestlers’ behaviour, unlikely to reconstitute oversight committee

The authorities is sad with the wrestlers’ behaviour and won’t reconstitute the oversight committee fashioned to probe the sexual harassment prices in opposition to WFI president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, Sports Ministry sources stated on Wednesday.

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur had on Monday introduced {that a} five-member oversight committee, headed by legendary boxer M C Mary Kom, will examine the fees in opposition to the Wrestling Federation of India boss and likewise handle the day-to-day affairs of the sports activities physique.

Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Sarita Mor and Sakshi Malik, who staged a sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar for 3 days demanding the sacking of the WFI president, expressed disappointment that they weren’t consulted earlier than the formation of the committee.

“The ministry has no plans to reconstitute the oversight committee to probe the allegations against WFI chief Brij Bhushan Singh,” a ministry supply advised PTI on Wednesday.

“We have formed a fair committee under Mary Kom which will go into the details of the matter,” stated the supply, including that the federal government is sad with the wrestlers’ behaviour as they went public with their reservations on the formation of the committee.

According to sources, the protesting wrestlers contemplate the London Olympics bronze medallist Yogeshwar near the WFI president. In reality, when Yogeshwar backed the under-fire Sharan, Vinesh had stated that he was “sitting on WFI’s lap.” The wrestlers had taken to twitter to specific their dismay on Tuesday.

However on Wednesday, Bajrang clarified that the grapplers don’t have a problem with Yogeshwar however they anticipated to be consulted earlier than the members have been finalised.

“We would like to speak with the Sports Minister after the Republic Day celebrations. We don’t have any problem with any members in the committee but we should have been consulted,” Bajrang Punia advised PTI.

Asked if no names have been mentioned with them, Bajrang stated, “A dialogue had occurred and these names got here up however we have been advised to return again on the names after dialogue.

“But the names were announced before we replied in affirmative. Government should not be unhappy with us. What have we done, we are fighting for justice,” he added. Apart from Yogeshwar, ex-badminton participant and Mission Olympic Cell member Trupti Murgunde, ex-TOPS CEO Rajagopalan and former SAI government director – groups – Radhica Sreeman are additionally member of the committee.

Both May Kom and Yogeshwar are additionally a part of the the seven-member committee fashioned by the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to probe the allegations of sexual harassment and corruption in opposition to the WFI chief.

Besides legendary boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, the IOA panel consists of archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWLF) president and IOA treasurer Sahdev Yadav.

The different members of the IOA committee are two advocates — Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra — in addition to former shuttler and IOA joint secretary Alaknanda Ashok, who’s its vice chairperson.

The agitating wrestlers, together with younger Anshu Malik, Sangeeta Phogat and Sonam Malik amongst others, began the sit-in protest at Jantar Mantar right here on Wednesday and demanded the sacking of the WFI chief. The wrestlers had accused Sharan, who can be a BJP MP, of appearing like a dictator and sexually harassing junior wrestlers.

The wrestlers didn’t reveal the identification of the athletes who confronted sexual harassment.