Report Wire - Karnataka govt orders to drop works of authors who withdrew consent from faculty textbooks

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Karnataka govt orders to drop works of authors who withdrew consent from faculty textbooks

2 min read
school textbooks

The Karnataka Textbook Society (KTBS) Friday determined to drop the works of authors for the present educational yr, who withdrew their consent from the varsity textbooks.

A complete of 11 authors had written to the training division in search of a withdrawal of their works from the Kannada language textbooks, as a mark of protest in opposition to the ‘unconstitutional’ and ‘undemocratic’ means of revising the textbooks. Out of which seven authors whose works are a part of this educational yr, might be dropped.

Authors additionally alleged that textbook committee head Rohith Chakrathirtha- whose committee is now disbanded-  insulted the state anthem and dishonored the state.

According to the round launched by the managing director of KTBS, the works of seven authors might be dropped from first, second and third language of Kannada textbooks which characteristic throughout courses 6, 9 and 10. The round additionally directed all the federal government, aided and unaided faculties to drop the works of the seven authors.

The authors whose works have been dropped embody, Devanur Mahadeva, G Ramakrishna, Roopa Hassan, Irappa M Kambali, Satish Kulkarni, Sukanya Maruti and Doddahullur Rukkoji.

Earlier, faculty training minister BC Nagesh had talked about that as per the principles, the authors can’t withdraw their consent as soon as it’s given.

The state authorities in Karnataka confronted a extreme backlash from opposition events, authors, and other people from the literary neighborhood for ‘distorting’ and ‘saffronising’ the textbook for political beneficial properties. Following which the federal government ordered round eight modifications within the textbooks, as per which the academics are educating the scholars.