Report Wire - Major humiliating defeat of Congress candidate in MLC elections

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Major humiliating defeat of Congress candidate in MLC elections

3 min read
Protesters torch effigy of Congress leader Ajay Singh Yadav in Haryana's Rewari; party cries foul

Express News Service

MUMBAI: Major set again to Maha Vikas Aghadi within the biennial elections of the Maharashtra state legislative council on Monday.

The BJP gained all 5 seats whereas Maha Vikas Aghadi gained the 5 seats and misplaced one in opposition to the BJP on this election in Maharashtra.

In this MLC election, the BJP secured 134 first desire votes in opposition to 123 votes within the current Rajya Sabha elections. This is inch closure to accommodate majority of 145 votes in Maharashtra state meeting. The election outcome additionally exhibits that there’s a huge shift within the votes of Maha Vikas Aghadi to the BJP. The 20 votes of Maha Vikas Aghadi cross-voted to the BJP in MLC elections that features three votes of the Congress, three Shiv Sena MLAs, a smaller and impartial MLAs that had been earlier a part of Maha Vikas Aghadi.

“This is a big victory for the BJP,” mentioned the chief of the Opposition Devendra Fadnavis.

In this election, BJP’s 5 candidates together with Pravin Darekar, Ram Shinde, Uma Khapre, Shrikant Bhartiya and Prasad Lad gained the MLC elections whereas NCPs two candidates Eknath Khadse and Ramraje Nimbalkar gained. Congress candidate Bhai Jagtap gained the elections within the third spherical on third desire votes however one other Congress candidate Chandrakant Handore misplaced it in opposition to Bhai Jagtap within the third spherical. BJP’s candidate Prasad Lad gained within the second spherical of counting late Monday night time.

Interestingly, the Congress occasion’s three votes had been cross-voted on this election. Out of a complete of 44 votes, each Congress candidates for 41 votes as first desire. These votes embrace 22 votes for Chandrakant Handore and 20 votes for Bhai Jagtap. NCP had 51 whole votes however secured 57 in MLC elections. It’s one vote that obtained disqualified throughout counting attributable to overwriting the reference numbers. Shiv Sena supported 4 votes and was additionally cross-voted on this election. Shiv Sena had 56 MLAs plus the help of six impartial MLAs, regardless of its candidate Sachin Ahir and Ameshya Padvi getting 26 every vote solely. 

Congress minister Balasaheb Thorat mentioned that the outcomes are very stunning for them. He mentioned that they won’t blame Maha Vikas Aghadi for the lack of its candidate Chandrakant Handore. He mentioned it was Congress’s accountability solely to maintain all MLAs collectively and get their votes. “If we could not get all 44 votes, then there is no point in blaming others. But as Maha Vikas Aghadi, we also need to think why we lost the one seat in Rajya Sabha elections and one seat MLC elections also,” Thorat mentioned.

After surprising outcomes, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray requested all MLAs to not depart Mumbai and referred to as an pressing assembly on Tuesday to debate the MLC elections outcome. 

Earlier within the day, the counting was delayed twice — as soon as by Congress demanding disqualification of two BJP MLAs votes Mukta Tilak and Laxman Jagtap for taking assist to forged the votes and dropping the poll paper within the poll drop field. Congress alleged violations of the elections code of conduct.

After the voting, within the scrutiny course of, BJP chief Ashish Shelar demanded disqualification of 1 NCP vote citing overwriting of desire numbers. NCP additionally demanded disqualification of BJP’s one vote for a similar causes. Later returning officer disqualified each the votes.