Report Wire - PM Sher Bahadur Deuba-led ruling alliance heading in direction of majority in Nepal election

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

PM Sher Bahadur Deuba-led ruling alliance heading in direction of majority in Nepal election

2 min read

The Nepali Congress (NC) emerged because the single-largest political get together with 67 seats out of the 124 seats within the Nepal Elections held final Friday.

Kathmandu,UPDATED: Nov 25, 2022 16:52 IST

By Press Trust of India: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s Nepali Congress-led ruling coalition was on Friday heading in direction of successful a transparent majority in Nepal’s parliamentary elections with the alliance bagging 67 seats out of the 124 declared thus far.

In the 275-member House of Representatives, 165 can be elected by direct voting, whereas the remaining 110 can be elected by a proportional electoral system.

A celebration or a coalition wants 138 seats to win a transparent majority.

The Nepali Congress (NC) was set to emerge because the single-largest get together after successful 42 seats alone beneath the direct voting system.

Its alliance companions — CPN-Maoist Centre and CPN-Unified Socialist have gained 12, 10 seats. The Lokatantrik Samajwadi and Rastriya Janamorcha have bagged two and one seats respectively. They are all a part of the ruling alliance.

Also Read: Nepal polls: Ruling alliance heading in direction of majority; NC rising as largest get together.

The Opposition alliance led by former premier Ok P Sharma Oli-led CPN-UML has bagged 38 seats.

The CPN-UML gained 30 seats.

The CPN-UML companions – the Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Janata Samajwadi Party – have gained 5 and three seats respectively.

The newly-formed Rastriya Swatantra Party has gained 7 seats.

The Lokatantrai Samajwadi Party and Janmat Party — each Madhesi events –have gained two and one seats respectively.

Also Read: 1 killed in ballot violence as Nepal common election sees 61% voter turnout

Nagarik Unmukti Party has bagged two seats and Janamorcha and Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party have acquired one every. Five seats had been gained by independents and others.

Elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and 7 provincial assemblies had been held on Sunday. The counting of votes began on Monday.

Posted By:

India Today Web Desk

Published On:

Nov 25, 2022