Report Wire - Voting low in Punjab for Sangrur bypoll, Tripura sees 76.6 per cent polling for 4 meeting seats

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Voting low in Punjab for Sangrur bypoll, Tripura sees 76.6 per cent polling for 4 meeting seats

4 min read
Voting low in Punjab for Sangrur bypoll, Tripura sees 76.6 per cent polling for four assembly seats


NEW DELHI: Polling was by and enormous peaceable within the bypolls for 3 Lok Sabha and 7 meeting seats unfold throughout 5 states and Delhi on Thursday barring an incident of stabbing of a policeman in Tripura, the place polling was the best at 76.62 per cent.

In Punjab, Delhi and Uttar Pradesh, the turnout was under 45 per cent whereas it was 56 per cent in Jharkhand and 67 per cent in Andhra Pradesh. The ultimate figures are prone to change.

In Uttar Pradesh, the place the turnout was 43 per cent within the bypolls to the Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha seats, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav accused the ruling BJP of misusing energy to disrupt voting.

He alleged that although the Election Commission was knowledgeable concerning the developments, the election equipment remained a mute spectator. SP staff had been harassed and undue stress was created on them to vote for BJP candidates, he alleged.

The turnout in Tripura for the by-elections to 4 meeting constituencies was a powerful 76.62 per cent. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Kiran Gitte stated off-duty police constable Samir Saha was stabbed in Kunjaban space in Agartala constituency, including he’s present process remedy at a hospital.

Opposition Congress demanded repoll in 4 cubicles of Agartala constituency, claiming largescale rigging, whereas TMC alleged that “democracy was murdered” within the title of by-elections. The ruling BJP exuded confidence in profitable all of the 4 seats — Agartala, Jubarajnagar, Surma and Town Bardowali.

Chief Minister Manik Saha is contesting from Town Bardowali. He must win this election to proceed because the chief minister. He is a Rajya Sabha member who was sworn in final month after the then chief minister Biplab Deb’s sudden resignation.

The TMC, which is attempting to make inroads within the state, alleged large-scale rigging by “BJP-backed goons”. Punjab noticed a low turnout of simply over 37 per cent within the bypoll to the Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency.

In a tweet, Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann demanded from the Election Commission that the voting time be prolonged until 7 pm, citing that many individuals had been nonetheless working in fields because of the paddy-sowing season.

The Sangrur deputy commissioner-cum-returning officer and the state chief secretary additionally sought extension of polling time from the election panel.

The ballot panel pulled up the officers over the request, asking them to elucidate why they sought extension of polling time in direction of closing hours, saying it amounted to “attempt of unduly interfering in the election process and influence certain class of voters”.

Over 43 per cent voters within the Rajinder Nagar meeting constituency in Delhi exercised their franchise within the bypoll. The bypoll is essentially being seen as a battle between a assured AAP and a spirited BJP. Nearly 67 per cent voters exercised their franchise within the by-election to Atmakuru meeting constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

Except some minor incidents, the polling went on with none incident of violence, critical criticism and interruption, State Chief Electoral Officer Mukesh Kumar Meena stated. In Battepadu village in Atmakuru mandal, Independent candidate T Sasidhar Reddy raised an objection alleging campaigning inside a polling station by ruling YSR Congress activists.

He additionally alleged that the authorities had been turning a blind eye to it and picked up an argument with police. Following intervention by senior officers, the difficulty subsided even because the polling continued unhindered.

The BJP alleged that its polling agent was kidnapped from a polling station in Krishnapuram village however police denied any such factor occurred. Police tried to disperse a mob of YSRC staff, gathered close to a polling station in Padamatinayudu Palli.

The ruling occasion staff initially resisted the police try however had been later despatched away from the scene. In Jharkhand, 56.03 per cent polling was reported within the Mandar meeting bypoll in Ranchi district. The by-election was necessitated after the disqualification of Bandhu Tirkey as an MLA within the wake of his conviction in a corruption case.

The Congress has fielded Bandhu’s daughter, Shilpa Neha Tirkey, because the widespread candidate of the JMM-led alliance, whereas BJP has nominated former legislator Gangotri Kujur. The bypoll to the Azamgarh seat in Uttar Pradesh was necessitated by the resignation of SP chief Yadav, who was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly as an MLA within the elections earlier this yr.

The Rampur seat was vacated by senior SP chief Azam Khan, who too was elected to the state meeting. In Punjab, the bypoll was necessitated by the resignation of Mann from the Lok Sabha after he was elected as an MLA within the state meeting elections earlier this yr.

He had gained the Sangrur seat within the 2014 and 2019 parliamentary elections. The bypolls in Agartala and Town Bardowali in Tripura had been necessitated after Sudip Roy Barman and Asish Saha give up as BJP MLAs and joined the Congress in February.

The Surma seat in Dhalai district fell vacant after BJP legislator, Asish Das, was disqualified by Speaker Ratan Chakraborty and bypoll to Jubarajnagar was necessitated following the loss of life to sitting CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath.

In Andhra Pradesh, the bypoll is being held to fill the emptiness induced because of the loss of life of then Industries Minister Mekapati Goutham Reddy in February. His brother Vikram Reddy is the ruling YSR Congress candidate and he’s locked in a contest with BJP’s G Bharat Kumar Yadav.

The bypoll in Delhi was necessitated within the wake of AAP chief Raghav Chadha leaving the seat after being elected to the Rajya Sabha not too long ago.